Lavender and Crochet

Check out my favorite new body lotion and the reason I need it so much!

 Lotion: Avalon Organics

 I am absolutely obsessed with this lotion. It is an organic lotion with no harsh chemicals. My acupuncturist introduced me to this when I was having some trouble with my skin. She explained that many of the popular lotions with perfumes and strong chemicals can actually do our skin more harm than good. She told me to check out Avalon Organics.

They sell a wide variety of products including lotion, body wash, shampoo and conditioner. I have only tried the lotions and body wash so far. My two favorite scents are Lavender and Peppermint.

The other great thing about this lotion is that it absorbs into your skin really well. After using the lotion there is none of that slimy “I have oil all over my hands” feeling. It simply leaves my skin soft and smooth.

I highly recommend checking them out. There is even a place on the website where you can find stores that sell their products. That way you can check out the scents first hand.

I also thought I would share my big crochet project with all of you today. (One of the big reasons I keep this lotion on hand all day). This afghan is about the size of a twin comforter. It took about a month to make from start to finish, but I have to say, it was worth all of the dry skin, broken nails and aching fingers!

Now you’ll all get a glimpse of my geeky side! I saw a Tetris afghan on Pinterest made by artist Loretta Grayson; which she had posted on her blog. I thought it was one of the coolest things I had ever seen. I used to love playing Tetris as a kid and thought it would be great crochet project to try myself. My design is quite different from hers but I had to give her credit for the inspiration.

Do you have a craft or hobby that wreaks havoc on your hands? Do you have a go-to lotion to help prevent the damage?

Mindy

Previous Post
Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. OMG can’t believe you are doing that! You are the best!!

    Reply
  2. I am so not a crafty person. If I could, I’d DIY myself a Tetris skirt, like one that I saw on Etsy. Especially considering how they don’t sell awesome designs like that, it’d be amazing to create something like that yourself.

    Sincerely,
    Sabrina

    Reply
  3. Thanks for sharing the lotion info! I’m always on the lookout for products like this.
    And the crochet project you made…how fun!! =)
    xo,
    nancy

    Reply
  4. I have always wanted to learn to crochet–I just can’t grasp it for some reason. You’re so talented!

    -Alyssa
    The Glossy Life

    Reply
    • Thank you Alyssa! I only knew a few basics stitches up until this summer. Then I discovered that I could look up new stitches on YouTube. I’m hoping to stick with the hobby this time!

      Reply
  5. that is way too cool, i love it!!!!!!

    Reply
  6. ahhh haha!!!
    that tetris afghan is AWESOME.

    and yup, crafts can totally beat up your hands.
    when i used to make clip-on cat ears/bows for
    halloween, i used to accidentally burn my fingers
    with hot glue from the glue gun all the time. >_<

    suffer for art.

    wish i could recommend a good hand lotion,
    but i have yet to find one.

    Reply
  7. wow great job ..am hardly good at crocheting

    Reply
  8. oo i might have to try this lotion! i love the lavender scent. and holy shit this is so amazing!! i am extremely jealous and i may have to look into doing this myself!

    -Jessica
    http://www.jumpintopuddles.com

    Reply
  9. I love to crochet too, since I was 8. Im a grandma at heart, but still loving it nonetheless. Love this modern take of the afghan, the tetrils color blocking is darn cool

    http://www.girllilikoi.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

