Gel Manicure Update

Happy Friday!!

I have a not so good update on my at home gel manicure. It is already chipping. However, I am not quite ready to swear off this product all together.

The top picture shows the chips in my at home gel manicure. The second picture shows me crocheting.

Why? Because I think that is what brought on the chipping. Crocheting may not seem like it would do much damage, however, I have been working on a significant crocheting project the past week. When I am working on the squares I am frequently using my nails to pull and tighten the yarn. The chipping is exclusive the fingers I am using most to crochet.

So ultimately, I think this at home gel manicure has the potential to hold up for a week or more with normal wear and tear. I just think it’s not quite strong enough to stand up to direct abuse. For the $5 I spent on the kit I don’t mind.

If you go easy on your nails I think the at home gel manicure will hold up well for you!

Have a fantastic weekend!

Mindy

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. Thanks for the update! For $5 I guess you can’t be too disappointed πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. I haven’t used a gel nail polish yet so this post was definitely helpful!

    Thanks for sharing!

    β™₯, Jo
    http://www.StyleAt30.com

    Reply
  3. For $5, I think it’s worth it then! Thanks for the update. πŸ™‚

    xo, Yi-chia
    Always Maylee

    Reply
  4. I never tried it but it sounds amazing;)
    xx
    B.
    http://www.beeswonderland.com/

    Reply
    • If you get one done at the salon they hold up for weeks. Although, I’ve never put one up against my crocheting…

      Reply
  5. Nicola

     /  July 27, 2012

    5$ ! nice , ill give them a try! i love that colour. xx

    please check out my blog and follow . . .
    http://www.head-toefashion.blogspot.com

    Reply
  6. Crocheting, knitting, any craft kills nails! My nails are in terrible repair anyway, but if I’m sewing all day, then I end up reapplying polish everyday.
    Once you complete your crochet project, I think the acrylics will last much longer:)

    Reply
    • So true! I’ve given up on the polish for now. You’re very patient to reapply every day. I’m going to give the kit another try once I’m done the project!

      Reply
  7. Dish-washing is usually the killer of my manicure! πŸ™‚ I just can’t get myself to use the gloves.

    Reply
    • I’ve never done dishes with gloves. It would seem really strange. You’re right though, it totally destroys nails!

      Reply
  8. Thank you for the update!!

    Have a great weekend!

    http://cravingforbarneys.com

    Reply
  9. wow you do croche!!!! I admire you… I love your nails, you did a great job with them =)
    kisses

    Reply
  10. $5 isn’t that bad so I might have to try it! My regular polish will last about 4 days without chipping so maybe this would be even better!

    Amy

    Fashion and Beauty Finds

    Reply
    • If your regular polish lasts 4 days I’m sure this will last a long time for you. I was just tearing it apart pulling at yarn.

      Reply
  11. that is pretty cheap, i get mine done frequently and the gel at the salon lasts foreverrr

    -Jessica
    http://www.jumpintopuddles.com/

    Reply
  12. you nails look great! gel is so much better than regular polish! xo

    http://allthingsprettyandlittle.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  13. this is a fabulous colour
    http://mypackingstylist.com

    Reply
  14. Morgan Brooks

     /  July 29, 2012

    Fabulous post love!
    Since you have such wonderful style, Id love for you to stop by my blog and enter my $50 forever 21 giveaway and check out my latest posts!
    XOXO
    Morgan Brooks
    http://thesocialboutique.blogspot.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

