At Home Gel Manicure

Good morning readers!

We have a store up here called “Five Below”. Everything in the store costs $5 or less. I went in looking to pick up a new nail buffer when I stumbled across a Nutra Nail Gel Perfect kit.

I gave the kit a try for the first time yesterday. I looks like regular nail polish, however, there are some extra steps. First, you begin with the “activator”. It looks like a base coat of regular polish though it is more water like. Then you apply the color. You have to do one hand at a time or you run the risk of the activator drying which would make the polish not adhere. Overall it took me about 15 minutes to put two coats on all 10 of my nails. It actually went faster than using regular polish because you don’t need to (and shouldn’t) wait for each coat to dry.

The kit cost me only $5 at “Five Below”. When I opened the box I found a coupon for $2 off of another kit. So if this holds up as long as a professional gel manicure I will go back and buy another kit for only $3. If you don’t have a “Five Below” near you the Nutra Nail Gel Perfect kit is available at drug stores as well.

It has been 24 hours so far and I have no hints of chipping. I have had regular gel manicures done at a salon in the past. I absolutely love them, however, the UV light makes me a little weary. I try to save getting a professional gel manicure done for special occasions.

Do you have gel manicures done? Have you ever tried an at-home kit?

Enjoy your Wednesday!

Mindy

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. your nails looks great! let us know if you think it works — if so I’ll be heading to my local five below! xo

    http://allthingsprettyandlittle.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  2. I’ve never had a gel manicure, but I’m assuming it keeps the nail polish from chipping? If yours holds up, I’m off to Five Below too!!

    Reply
    • They are special manicures done at salons that need to set under a UV light. There is some question as to whether or not the light can be harmful to your skin. The gel manicure (sometimes called shellac) is meant to last up to 2-3 weeks. This is an at home kit that doesn’t use the light but is supposed to last 2 weeks as well. I will let you know how it goes!

      Reply
  3. We have a Five Below here too, but I’ve never been inside! Definitely let us know if this works for you! 🙂

    xo, Yi-chia
    Always Maylee

    Reply
    • It’s great for silly knick-knacks. A lot of people will buy Apple accessories there because they are far less expensive. I’ll post on the blog after a week if it’s holding up!

      Reply
  4. I have never done it,but it looks great!Maybe I’ll try it;)
    xx
    B.
    http://www.beeswonderland.com/

    Reply
  5. Wow, definitely want to try this! Definitely let us all know how the manicure holds up. Did they have a nice color selection?

    Reply
    • The color selection was limited. There was a teal, red, purple and pink as far as I could see. I would imagine the drug stores have a larger selection. I’ll post after a week and let everyone know how it went! 🙂

      Reply
  6. I’ve never used that!!I’m eager to know if you think it works!

    http://cravingforbarneys.com

    Reply
  1. Gel Manicure Update « livefreeandfashionable

Leave a Reply

