A Fashionable Environmentally Friendly Purse

The new purse I ordered from Twin Valley Bags! Photo from Twin Valley Bags Website.

 So, recently I saw a report on ABC News that really freaked me out. I’ve heard stories like this one before, however, this one had some concrete scientific evidence to go along with it.

Apparently, many handbags contain lead. There is no real way for the average Jane to tell whether or not a bag has lead in it, so you kind of just have to hope that you’re not carrying one of the bags that does. I think about all the handbags I’ve had over the years and I start to worry about just how much lead I may have been exposed to already.

Now, some of you are probably thinking, “Oh, well, I’ve got a fancy designer bag, I’m sure it’s fine.” Unfortunately, that is not the case. Many of the bags were made by high end designers (I’ll let you read the article for that, I’m not here to bash. Plus, one of the designers responded stating that this was completely unacceptable and they would be looking into the issue further).

Having heard about lead content in bags yet again, I was talking to my mother about the report. My mother’s response to my concern was “Mindy, just get a burlap sack! That won’t contain lead!” Now of course, this is serious news, so I also wanted to share it with my Facebook friends. No sooner had I posted the link one of my friends also jokingly suggested a burlap sack.

So the two of them really got me thinking. They were of course correct, the probability of lead in a burlap sack (most famous for containing food products) was very low; maybe they’re on to something! So, a quick Google search led me to “Twin Valley Bags”.

I was extremely impressed with what I saw on the Twin Valley Bags website. They have a whole line of burlap products. The product is a sub-company of Twin Valley Coffee. They repurpose the burlap sacks their coffee beans come in to make purses, totes, laptop sleeves, ipad covers and even throw pillows! The products are designed beautifully as well. They may be made of burlap but they look far better than a simple burlap sack!

I myself ordered the pleated burlap hobo bag. It should be arriving in the mail soon! When it arrives I will give a full review and post! It is so great to see a recycled product that looks fabulous.

Do you have any favorite earth-friendly products? If so, what are they? Do you look for environmentally friendly options?

Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. What an interesting post!! I did not have idea about lead in bags!! Cannot believe it!! I am looking forward to seeing your new bag!!

    Reply
  2. i love all things environmentally friendly! =)

    Do you want to follow each other?
    xoxo
    lesleykim.blogspot.com
    LesleyKim

    Reply
  3. yikes…who knew!!! Thanks for posting and spreading the word…and I love the new bag!

    Reply
  4. unfortunately there are so many products and things we use that contain harsh ingredients and you often have to go the extra mile to even find out 😦 i love the idea of this health/eco conscious bag!

    -Jessica
    http://runninginsideus.blogspot.com/

    Reply
    • You couldn’t be more right Jessica. When I find more eco-friendly items I will be sure to post about them to save people the extra mile! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Such a cool post honey,well done;)
    xx
    B.
    http://www.beeswonderland.com/

    Reply
  6. Interesting post!

    Tina
    http://2petite.blogspot.com

    Reply
  7. Wow, thanks for posting on this. I had no idea about lead content in handbags, although why wouldn’t there be with all the metal clasps etc.
    Thanks for sharing this!

    xx Jenee C.
    http://camomeetscouture.blogspot.com

    Reply
    • The surprising thing is that the clasps aren’t the culprit. There is lead used in the coloring on the bags. It’s all over.

      Reply
  8. nice! I would def get that bag. i need more green friendly bags

    Reply
  9. I love the look of those recycled burlap bags and totes – there are a bunch of interesting ones that I’ve been spying on Etsy. Your hobo looks great!

    Reply
  10. I just fell in love with your blog, is so cute and interesting… If you have time please visit my blog and if you like it let me know if you want us to follow each other ok!
    http://www.petitgraphie.blogspot.com
    kisses

    Reply
    • I just checked out your blog. It’s great! I’m following you on Bloglovin’ now. I’m looking forward to seeing future posts!

      Reply
  1. My Burlap Purse Has Arrived!! | livefreeandfashionable

Leave a Reply

